DUI Virginia First Offense Basic Information
Drunk driving is a serious crime with severe penalties, but those accused of a DUI Virginia first offense may have additional options. A Virginia DUI attorney can provide advice.
DUI Virginia First Offense Basics
Even a DUI Virginia first offense is a serious crime with potentially long-term effects. A person is guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) in Virginia when they operate a motor vehicle in a public place and has an alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher, as shown by chemical analysis.
Virginia is one of the few states with a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to driving under the influence of alcohol. That means that any amount of alcohol in your system can lead to a DUI charge.
In Virginia, a first offense DUI is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries fines and jail time. The punishment will depend on the severity of the case, but you can expect at least some jail time and fines. A DUI lawyer in VA can guide you through the process to ensure your outcome is as positive as possible.
Virginia DUI First Offense Facts
In Virginia, a DUI first offense is considered a misdemeanor that can lead to up to 1 year in jail. A person can be charged with a DUI when they operate vehicles on any highway, street, or other public place while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The maximum blood alcohol level is .08% for adults and .02% for those under 21 years old.
The penalties for a first offense include up to 1 year in jail, mandatory minimum fines, and license suspension. If you refuse to take a breath test when law enforcement stops you, your license will be suspended for at least one year on your first refusal.
What Constitutes a VA DUI First Offense?
A person receives a VA DUI first offense charge when they are considered under the influence of alcohol, and there is a .08% or higher concentration of alcohol in their blood. In addition to alcohol, you could be pulled over for driving under the influence of the following:
- Drugs and illegal substances
- Over-the-counter medication
- Prescription medication
The penalties for DUI are more severe when the driver has had a prior DUI conviction.
Hire a Lawyer for a DUI in Virginia First Offense
When you are charged with a DUI in Virginia as a first offense, hiring a lawyer to help you with your case will typically give you a better chance of success than if you face it on your own.
It is not always easy to find the right DUI lawyer in Virginia. You may want to ask friends and family for their recommendations. You can also look online for reviews of lawyers who practice in this area.
When hiring a lawyer, there are some things that you should keep in mind. You should find out whether they have experience with the type of DUI charge you have been accused of committing. Make sure they have a good track record for winning cases like yours. Then, check their rates and fees before deciding who you want as your lawyer.
First Offense for DUI: What Are the Consequences?
If you have been arrested, you may wonder what the consequences of the first offense for a DUI are. A DUI Virginia is a criminal offense. Depending on the circumstances, it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
The first offense for DUI’s punishment can be minimal or serious. The penalties can vary from fines to community service or even jail time. At the high end, it is punishable by up to six months in county jail and a $1,000 fine.
What’s the Fine for a First Offense DUI?
Since it is a misdemeanor in Virginia, the fine for a first offense DUI can be expensive. Depending on the circumstances, the fine can range from $250 to $2500.
Virginia DUI Laws First Offense
According to Virginia DUI laws, a first offense is a charge given to a person with no previous DUI convictions. The law defines DUI as driving or operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol, your license will be revoked for at least 12 months. If you are convicted of driving under the influence of drugs for the first time, your license will also be revoked for at least 12 months. You will also typically have to pay a $500 fine and serve jail time.
DUI Laws in Virginia First Offense
DUI laws in Virginia for a first offense are consistent with other states. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Virginia with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher. This is called operating while intoxicated (OWI).
An individual will be charged with a Class 1 Misdemeanor for the first offense, and their license may be suspended for up to 6 months.
Individuals who are convicted of an OWI for the first time will have their driver’s license revoked for at least six months and a restricted license for as much as one year. They may also face fines up to $2500, jail time for up to 12 months, or both.
Virginia DUI Penalties First Offense Diversion
In Virginia, DUI penalties for a first offense can often be avoided with inclusion in a DUI diversion program. This program provides drivers with the opportunity to avoid a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) if they complete an alcohol safety action program.
The Virginia DUI Penalties First Offense Diversion Program is a program that provides drivers with the opportunity to avoid a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) if they complete an alcohol safety action program.
The benefits of this program are that it allows drivers to save their licenses and avoid higher insurance rates.
If you’re convicted of a DUI, you’ll have to pay fines, court costs, and other fees, which can cost up to $3,000. You will also have your license suspended for at least one year and could be given jail time up to one year.
Virginia DUI First Offense Penalties
Virginia DUI first offense penalties include a 12-month license suspension. Additionally, the offender will have to pay a $250 fine and attend an alcohol safety education program. The offender may also be ordered to attend a substance abuse evaluation and comply with any recommended treatment.
Common first offense DUI penalties include:
- Having an ignition interlock installed
- Jail time
- Restricted driver’s license or driver’s license suspension
If the offender is convicted of two or more DUI offenses within ten years, then they will be sentenced to at least six months in jail for each offense. To retain your driving privileges and maintain a clean criminal record after your first offense DWI, reach out to a knowledgeable attorney at law for a free consultation.
A Virginia Law Office for DUI Defense
If you’re facing a Virginia DUI charge, contact an attorney skilled at defending clients in state and federal courts. An experienced DUI defense lawyer with whom you develop a good attorney-client relationship can help you in the Virginia courts.
After a DUI arrest, contact Jay P. Mykytiuk from Scrofano Law for a free case evaluation.
NEED AN ATTORNEY?
We fight for your rights!